Free Pattern: Little Boy* Blue Ribbed Baby Hat

(* – or girl!)
IMPORTANT NOTE: This pattern has been corrected on February 1, 2008. If there are any problems with the pattern, or you have any questions, feel free to email me: tonyawagner at gmail dot com.


(more pictures of the hat, including decreases, coming soon!)

Yarn: Louisa Harding Kashmir Aran, one skein (or leftovers of a skein)
Needles: US 7 circs and US 7 dpns
Notions: Stitch marker, yarn needle.
Size: This hat fits a newborn, but due to the stretchy nature of the ribbing and the versatility of the brim, it should fit any child for quite some time!!

CO 64 sts. Place marker to indicate beg of round. Work in k2, p2 rib for six inches, or desired length.

Work decreases as follows:

Rnd 1 – *K2, p2, k2, p2tog, rep from * to end. (56 sts).
Rnd 2 – *K2, p2, k2, p1, rep from * to end.
Rnd 3 – *K2, p2tog, k2, p1, rep from * to end. (48 sts).
Rnd 4 – *K2, p1, k2, p1, rep from * to end.
Rnd 5 – *K2, p1, k2tog, p1, rep from * to end. (40 sts).
Rnd 6 – *K2, p1, k1, p1, rep from * to end.
Rnd 7 – *K2, p2tog, p1, rep from * to end. (32 sts).
Rnd 8 – *K2, p2, rep from * to end.
Rnd 9 – *K2, p2tog, rep from * to end. (24 sts).
Rnd 10 – *K2tog, p1, rep from * to end. (16 sts).
Rnd 11 – *K2tog, rep from * to end. (8 sts.)

Break yarn and pull through rem 8 sts.

Weave in ends and fold up the brim of your hat to achieve your desired look.

This entry was posted in free pattern, ribbed baby hat. Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Free Pattern: Little Boy* Blue Ribbed Baby Hat

  1. yay another pattern! I’m still going to knit the cabled purse from the pattern you wrote =)I can use this new pattern soon.. you’ll know why if you read my last post =DLeo looks adorable in the little hat btw!

  2. I procrastinated on X-mas gifts, after purchasing the needles and yarn months ago to make a hat for a cousin’s new baby. Last night I finally got around to starting this hat and finished in just a few hours, great pattern, super easy for a first hat project and totally cute! Thanks so much for the great freebie!

  3. Anonymous says:

    Thanks for the pattern! Cute!

  4. Peanut says:

    Any tips for adjusting the decreasing portion of the pattern if I want to make a bigger hat? Like CO 80 stitchesthanks

  5. Christine says:

    Thanks for this pattern! I've been knitting for charity and it's great because it is so adjustable! I did one with size 8s and cast on 72 stitches, knit for 6.5 inches, then just followed the decreasing as in the pattern. It fit my 18 month old and my husband (though it would have been better a little longer for him). I'm knitting my third already!

  6. Anonymous says:

    I just made this hat in a few hours, for my niece expecting her first baby. I also made booties. Thank you for the lovely pattern, it looks so cute!!

  7. Delia says:

    Love it! I'm almost done mine!

  8. Jennifer says:

    I just finished making one for my little guy due this fall. Thank you for such a sweet little hat pattern:)

  9. Anonymous says:

    can you please send me the directions without abbriveating please?

  10. Jen says:

    Awesome, thanks! This is just what I need, a basic baby hat!

  11. KnitScrapSew says:

    As long as you cast on some multiple of 8, you don't need to change the decrease section. Ribbed hats are the BEST, especially for charity knitting, because they are quick to knit and last the recipient a long time. I just finished 14 for a birth center in Afghanistan!Thanks for sharing your pattern.

Leave a Reply

