Halfway through the BSJ!

One of my many WIPs is the Baby Surprise Jacket by Elizabeth Zimmerman. This morning I snapped some pictures of the BSJ in progress. (Sadly, they aren’t nearly as wonderful as Jared Flood’s BSJ pictures, but hey – they work.)


I am currently teaching a class on the Baby Suprise Jacket at the <a href="http://www.k
nitnookhop.blogspot.com”>Knit Nook Compared to the (talented) knitters in the class my BSJ seems huge. I’m using my favorite yarn for Leo’s stuff – Blue Sky Alpacas Dyed Cotton with some Blue Sky Alpacas Organic Cotton from a frogged project. Since I’m going for a 18 month sweater, I’m using US 9 needles. I think the BSJ might turn out more on the 24 months size, but I’d rather it be too big than too small.

I will have to admit, I’m a little concerned about the cotton. I’m afraid it won’t hold it’s shape as well as wool (since alas, Leo can’t wear wool; even carpet makes him break out.) I really wanted to use A-MAIZing for a BSJ, but to make the bigger size I needed a worsted weight yarn. But back to the pictures . . .


You can already see how EZ’s amazing jacket is going to take shape. I am not really striping with a pattern in mind, but I like how the stripes look so far. This is going to be the front of the jacket – see the sleeves?


I am loving the back view, too.

This entry was posted in bsj, classes. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Halfway through the BSJ!

  1. You must have tiny feet! That jacket looks likt it would fit you by comparison.I love the BSJ,and the Suplice version (that I’m doing). They are projects that rely on faith, rather that instructions, aren’t they? I wonder if anyone has done the math to make them truely larger, other than uping the yarn and needle sizes?

  2. KeanaLee says:

    The jacket looks really cute, and truth be told I am not a fan of the BSJ, yours is the first one that has made me think differently. Can’t wait to see it done.

  3. erica says:

    Tonay -I think yours looks great! Mine, by comparison, with the smaller needles and thinner yarn, is hardly worth photographing yet. Whereas I can see the sweater taking shape in yours, mine is still definitely on faith. Thank goodness for your pattern notes and spreadsheet!

Leave a Reply

