Rejected – but still happy!

Yesterday I received the form letter rejection from Interweave. I was sure the designers for the Winter issue had already been notified but was hoping that they were holding on to my design for a future issue.

My disappointment turned to giddiness when I discovered that Eunny Jang had attached a handwritten note to the sketch I submitted. I didn’t notice it for a few minutes because the note was written on the same type of graph paper as my sketch. At first I thought this was standard IK procedure but found out (via other Ravelers that submitted to IK) that not everyone receives a personal response. Her kind words definitely boosted my confidence. Eunny, if you ever read this – thank you!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Rejected – but still happy!

  1. Capi says:

    That’s cool!!! Sorry you got rejected, but you should definitely have the confidence to keep submitting!!! Good stuff!!!

  2. Kristin says:

    I think every great designer has a few rejections at the beginning. But what an encouraging way to get rejected. I’m sure you’ll get it next time!

  3. BakerX says:

    I'm paraphrasing someone much deeper & wiser than myself when I say this… But, obstacles and rejections are put up to discourage those other people who AREN'T YOU. Those barriers are place there to weed them out so that eventually your persistence & quality work will shine through & take its rightful place!Anyway, not to sound so sour grapes about it('cause Interweave Knits IS pretty awesome)… Honestly, what did you REALLY think about the quality of actual knitwear in their "Best Of" compilation?Big ups to Eunny for fostering up & coming talent! No wonder you just queued a lot of her designs on ravelry!

Leave a Reply

