Designing a sweater: introduction.

It seems like, with the exception of the Baby Surprise Jacket, everything I’ve been knitting lately has been of my own design. On one hand, this is awesome – I’m doing what I want to do! On the other hand, I really hate not being able to blog about my projects. I decided to take you along with me as I work on this sweater that I’m designing for Craig (a late birthday present.) Since I plan to self-publish the pattern, and it’s a basic shape anyway, I’m comfortable posting about it on my blog. (By the way, I’m not the first person to do this – Norah Gaughan, Chrissy Gardiner and Eunny Jang have all done something similar.)

I’ve noticed that since I started taking designing seriously, I’ve become a much more disciplined knitter in general. I can’t believe how much I’ve grown as a knitter and designer since I sent off my first submission. I hope that I continue to refine my process, but right now this is what works for me. I’ve borrowed ideas from Maggie Righetti, Barbara Walker, Elizabeth Zimmermann, Priscilla Gibson-Roberts and Deborah Robson and more.

Since I’m doing this almost in real time, there might be a little time between this and the next sweater design post, as I have about fifty-billion WIPs that need to be completed. Most of the deadlines I need to meet are this month, but I hope to make a little progress on this sweater between finishing up other things.

I have, in the past, let the yarn be my guide and made up the pattern as I went along. This is fine, but make sure to take thorough notes along the way. It’s always difficult to remember exactly how you’ve done something. If you’re a “make it up as you go along” person, the upcoming posts won’t really apply to you – but props on the impromptu creativity!

I want to state that I am not claiming to be a qualified professional, this is just what works for me. I am really excited about the process of creating a new design and I hope some of you find it to be interesting.

Monday I’ll post step one, then it might be a few days before I post step two. I hope you’re on board!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Designing a sweater: introduction.

  1. Holly says:

    I’m excited to hear about your design process! Sounds like fun!

  2. i’m anxious to hear all about it…

Leave a Reply

