Tutorial Tuesday: Anatomy of a top-down sweater.

Okay, this isn’t really a tutorial, but it is educational. I hope it will help get me back in the swing of posting a new tutorial every Tuesday. (I have photos for Kitchener stitch next week!)

When I was working on my MPMK pattern, St. James, I took a couple of progress photos. St. James is a top-down raglan, which is a very easy way to make sweaters once you get used to it. When you make a top-down sweater, you cast on for the front, back and sleeves all at once, and increase on either side of a marker to shape the raglan. (Some patterns use compound raglans or neck shaping, but St. James is very simple.) This is what you have after a the first several rounds:


The beauty of top-down sweaters is that you can try them on frequently as you’re knitting. This makes for easy customization. Play around with the increase and decrease rounds until you find the perfect fit for you.

(In hindsight, I wish I had tried this on over a tank!)

Thanks for all of the positive feedback on the sweater! If anyone has any questions at all about the pattern, I’d be happy to answer them. (Click the “contact me” button on the sidebar.)

This entry was posted in top down, tutorial tuesday. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

