Tutorial Tuesday: How to do m1r and m1l increases.

I will admit it; I used to hate doing m1r and m1l increases. It just seemed way fussier than a kfb or yo increase (which I’ll be doing tutorials for in the coming weeks!) I soon realized that m1 increases were just as fun and easy to execute. Today, I’ll show ya how it’s done.

M1R (make one right)

Step One: Locate the bar between two stitches. You can see it here, nestled between two knit stitches.

Step Two: From the back, pick up the bar with your right-hand needle . . .



. . . and place it on your left-hand needle.




Step Three: Knit the stitch that you just picked up through the front loop, as usual.


You have just increased one stitch.

M1L (make one left)

Step One: Same as Step One of m1r – find the bar between the two stitches.

Step Two: From the front, pick up the bar with your right-hand needle and place it on the left-hand needle.



Step Three: Knit the stitch that you just picked up through the back loop.


You have just increased one stitch.

Questions? Corrections? I’m here to help! Leave a comment, or email me at tonyawagner AT theshizknit DOT com.

This entry was posted in increases, tutorial tuesday. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Tutorial Tuesday: How to do m1r and m1l increases.

  1. jae says:

    Thanks for the great tutorial!

  2. thanks for this super tutorial, I had no idea how to do it and all kept finding were videos (and I can't watch videos from my office PC) so this was a life saver.Congrats, and great blog BTW…

Leave a Reply

