Tutorial: How to knit into the front and back of a stitch (kfb).

Another late tutorial – sorry! I thought this technique might be better shown with a video, but my efforts yesterday to record one didn’t work out so well. I’m here today (with photos) to show ya how to kfb.

Knitting into the front and back of a stitch (or kfb) is my favorite increase. It’s easy, it doesn’t leave a little hole, and I like the decorative look. This is how it’s done.

Step One: Knit the stitch as normal, but do not drop it off the needle.


Step Two: Knit into the back loop of the same stitch and drop it off. Knitting through the back loop is the same as knitting through the front loop, except for the fact that it’s in the back loop.


I tried to get a photo of the bump left by a kfb increase, but the yarn was just too dark and there wasn’t enough sun. If you look at the raglan section of St. James, however, you can see what a pair of kfb increases looks like.


This entry was posted in increases, tutorial tuesday. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Tutorial: How to knit into the front and back of a stitch (kfb).

  1. Holly says:

    You would not believe the fits KFB gave me when I was a new knitter. I didn’t know it at the time, but I was knitting into the back of *all* my stitches, and I thought that the back was the front. I was so perplexed by the idea of knitting into the back of the stitch. How could you knit into the back of the back? Were there two backs? lol It’s a wonder I’ve made it this far!

Leave a Reply

