Socks don’t count, right?

I have a lot of knitting to do.

Clearly, the practical thing is to work on a sock. (It is Socktober, after all.)

I began this sock a few weeks ago, when I actually had even more knitting to do than I do now. The pattern is Child’s First Sock in Shell Pattern, from Knitting Vintage Socks by Nancy Bush. I’ve had this book since the Christmas after I began knitting, but this is the first item I’ve knit from it (with many more post-it tabbed for future knitting.) The yarn is Cascade Heritage in a soft blue-gray colorway. The lace pattern is really pretty, so I didn’t want the yarn to be distracting. Cascade Heritage is turning out to be great to knit with.

Confession: this is the first pair of socks I’ve knit on US #1 needles – I typically do them on 3’s on the rare occasions I’ve knitted socks. I love it! It opens up this whole new world of knitting on tiny needles; it’s just so zen. I finally get all of you sock knitters and find myself wanting to hoard sock yarn. I have a feeling I will always have at least one sock on the needles from this point forward.

Okay, back to work. (Sadly, not on my socks.)

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Socks don’t count, right?

  1. Holly says:

    It’s really pretty! Makes me want to grab a ball out of my sock yarn stash and roll out a few pairs! Too bad that’s not on the spreadsheet…

Leave a Reply

