Professional.

If I’m going to be serious about knitwear design (which I am!), then it makes sense to be a member of professional organizations. While I wait for the Association of Knitwear Designers to re-open its doors, and get my credentials together to become an affiliate member of The National NeedleArts Association, I joined The Knitting Guild Association. As a member of the knitter’s guild, I’ll get their publication, Cast On, though there was a far more compelling reason to join.

I’ve signed up for the TKGA Master Knitter’s Program. All the talk about going back to school is making me long to study something I’m actually interested in, and since the TKGA Masters Program doesn’t have a deadline, I decided to go ahead and get started. I am most certainly a process knitter and love learning new things about the craft. A lot of knitters I admire, like Ann Budd, Janet Szabo, and Kathy Zimmerman, are Master Knitters, and I’d love to join their ranks.

The rest of my day is going to be spent finishing (and, let’s hope, mailing) my proposal for the Fall 09 issue of Interweave Knits and getting to work on a design that will be published next spring. Let’s hope Leo cooperates!


This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Professional.

  1. Holly says:

    I’ve thought about doing the master program too… maybe someday! Good luck with it!

Leave a Reply

