Malabrigo Epitome.

Today is already so much better than yesterday. I woke up early (after falling asleep while eating pizza and watching SNLPaul Rudd, you are so handsome!) and, despite my best efforts, couldn’t go back to sleep. I decided to take advantage of the quiet and did a ton of pattern grading and emailing various people about a few patterns on which I’m working. I’m pleased to discover that grading patterns is getting easier. And now, I’m updating the blog – all before 8 AM!

I obviously love my Epitome pattern (although Isotope is becoming my new favorite). I have knit one of every size, and three of the adult version, not including the knitting and ripping during the design process. After what, seven Epitomes, I said never again.

But then Andrew, who works at Steilberg String Instruments (the place Craig has his teaching studio), wanted a hand knit hat. And he wanted Epitome. Andrew loves merino wool and wanted a gray, so I chose to double strand the Malabrigo Merino Worsted in Tortuga.

The late night photo in yellow light really doesn’t do the colorway justice. This hat is so yummy!

I’m re-in love with this hat. I didn’t think it was possible for Malabrigo to feel softer or more wonderful, but double stranding it has that affect. The colorway is gorgeous, and it’s been awhile since I worked on size 11 needles. I want to make myself one in Malabrigo (post Christmas), and I’m thinking of updating the pattern to add a “man” size and change the recommended yarn to Malabrigo. (If you’ve purchased this pattern as a PDF, you’ll receive a copy with the new size added; Ravelry has a feature that allows me to send updates to those that have purchased the pattern. I don’t know how soon I’ll get around to it, but maybe it won’t take too long.)

So, Holly was on to something, and Kevin was too. Love it! And now, I’m going to throw in some LAUNDRY. At 8:15 AM. Craziness.

This entry was posted in epitome, shizknit patterns. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Malabrigo Epitome.

  1. Holly says:

    It looks great! I might have to make another one now! Love Tortuga!

  2. Andrew says:

    Tonya is the Shiz!

Leave a Reply

