In the frog pond / sock talk.

The Look Sharp entrelac socks simply aren’t meant to be.


They look great: I love the combination of brown and robin’s egg blue, the garter rib texture of the entrelac squares, and don’t even mind the US 1 needles. The problem is the size.


I was actually worried about the size before I even cast on. The pattern calls these socks a men’s size medium, but I think they’re much larger than that. I didn’t do a gauge swatch, but checked my gauge once I began thinking they would be too big. It was exact: 13 stitches (the size of one entrelac square) equals 1.5 inches.


They do fit around my calf, meaning that if I decreased the number of stitches around the ankle and foot, it’s possible that they may fit. Still, I do enough math when I write original patterns, and it wasn’t worth the trouble in my opinion. Then there was the going-down-a-needle-size option, but my US 0’s are tied up in another project (which, despite dragging my butt, is finally at the point where I can see the light at the end of the tunnel. In my defense, Leo pulled a needle out of the WIP and I had to rip back several repeats.) On Friday, one of the Knit Nookers suggested making them into leg warmers, but I never wear leg warmers. I also considered simply finishing them and searching for someone that would fit them.

The thing is, as much as I wanted this project to work, sometimes you just have to rip it out. Besides, there are Eunny‘s lovely Entrelac Knee Socks that I’ve had my eye on for some time now, and I think those will be much nicer. I even have the right two yarns in my stash. I’ve never done toe-up socks before, so I’m going to try some simpler ones first. Y’know, after I finish Hedera.

This entry was posted in knitting. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to In the frog pond / sock talk.

  1. Holly says:

    Don’t rip them out! I bet they would fit my enormous leg! My birthday isn’t until February. That is plenty of time! :^)

Leave a Reply

