My first skirt.

Actually, my first sewn garment!

I made this a few weeks ago using the simple skirt pattern from Sew U. I would recommend this book to anyone that’s even thinking about learning to sew clothing. It’s well-written and comes with three patterns – a basic skirt, basic blouse, and basic pants. I shortened the skirt to above the knee.


I learned how to do several things, like:

darts,


putting in a zipper,

and making a facing.

I finished the seams using pinking shears. It’s held up to washing without any fraying so far.

With the move to 80-degree weather here in Louisville, many more skirts will be coming!

(By the way, if anyone is interested, the fabric is Amy Butler Daisy Bouquet in Indigo.)

This entry was posted in sewing. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to My first skirt.

  1. Desiree says:

    Awesome! I have dabbled with simple clothes every once in a while, though not enoug to be comfortable with it. As a quilter it throws me to have to use 3/4th or 5/8ths seam allowances, LoL! Great job!

Leave a Reply

