The first FO for the new baby!

I have been working on this little garter stitch kimono sweater for a few months when I have a minute to spare, and all of those little moments have finally added up to a finished sweater.

It is Elizabeth Zimmermann’s Baby Surplice Jacket knit using Kollage Corntastic on US #4 needles. I love this pattern because it’s so versatile – you add buttons or an i-cord (I am leaning toward buttons, since they just got some amazing new ones in at the Knit Nook) and adjust the width of the sweater depending on how big the baby is. I am expecting this sweater to fit for quite some time, and I can always add ribbing to the sleeves to make them longer. (I did knit the sleeves eight rows longer than the pattern calls for, using a sleeper as a guide for how long I’d like them to be.)

I have quite a bit of assignment knitting to finish up, so I’m not sure what’s going to be next for the new little guy. I want to make another Baby Surprise Jacket (there’s a class at the Knit Nook beginning on November 8 for Baby, Child or Adult Surprise Jacket), but I’m not sure if I want to make a teensy one or one that will fit next fall. Decisions, decisions.

This entry was posted in knitting, zimmermann. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to The first FO for the new baby!

  1. I love that pattern, too, but what's with the too short sleeves? I added 3 inches to the sweater I knit, and it's still short on the 1 yo that I made it for.

  2. Holly says:

    Ooof! My ovaries!

  3. Eliza says:

    that's adorable! I love the mitering on the arms, and the colors you chose.

Leave a Reply

