Some socks for me.

These socks first appeared on my blog in May of last year. MAY. At that point, I didn’t even know that baby number two was on his way! As of that blog post, I was three inches into the second sock. I didn’t work on the socks between Bonnaroo (which was in June) and March first. When I picked them back up, I was ready to start the heel flap and decided that finishing these simple ribbed socks would be a great project to tackle with a new baby and a toddler. I just wove in the ends today, ten months after I started them.

I am going to take a second to say something totally unrelated to the socks – this is my first attempt at a self-timer photo using the Gorillapod my mother gave me for Christmas. Pretty nifty. Okay, back to the socks.

I mentioned in the last post that I was able to line up the stripes. I got pretty darn close to matching them perfectly. Around the heel you can see that they’re off a little, and the second sock has a little green on the tip of the toe. Luckily, that’s not too noticeable once you’re wearing them.

When I make these socks again (and why not, since they’re so classic), I want to make them a little smaller. Just a wee bit – maybe 60 stitches instead of 64. Otherwise, I give the yarn and pattern an A!

Yarn: Kaffe Fasset for Regia Landscape 4-Ply (Fire)
(the color is more true in the first photo)
Needles: Clover dpns, size 1
Pattern: Plain Ol’ Socks, available at the Knit Nook and written by Kristin
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Some socks for me.

  1. Joanne says:

    I love these! I'm starting, well trying to start, my first pair of socks! It's not going quite as well as I'd like – but I'm sure I'll get there! These lovely socks might motivate me to keep trying! :)Joanne @ Ready, Set, Craft!http://www.readysetcraft.blogspot.com

Leave a Reply

