Practical crafting.

In general, I make things because I want to – for example, Leo doesn’t really need any more sweaters at the moment, but that’s not going to stop me from casting on for new ones. Sometimes, though, I make things to fit a specific need. Lately, that’s what I’ve been doing.

I have just started cloth diapering Johnny, and if you’re going to have cloth diapers it makes sense to use cloth wipes. Rather than pay $12 for a package of 15 flannel wipes, I decided to use materials I had on hand to make my own.


I got a bunch of flannel on sale at JoAnn Fabrics before Johnny was born – I’m pretty sure it was $2.99/yard. I cut it into 8 inch by 8 inch squares using my rotary cutter and mat, and then simply zig zag stitched around the edges. I have around 30 wipes so far and still have about a third of my cute monster flannel left.


I got the idea to put them in a wipes container from a knitter, and I think it’s pretty fantastic. Who wouldn’t want to see those cute little monsters pop up?

Cloth diapering of course gives me an excuse to knit soakers, and I have cast on for my first – the Milo Soaker from Vintage Baby Knits. Photos forthcoming!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Practical crafting.

  1. Sherri says:

    I used those little baby sized washcloths for all my kids – I'd just run them thru a diluted bleach wash every now & then … worked great & much softer on those cute little bottoms!

  2. Kristin says:

    Clothe diapers?! Good for you! Let me know how it goes!

  3. Runic Rhyme says:

    Great idea, you're amazing :]

  4. Holly says:

    Whoa, I quit buying wipes for the house, but I've just been using plain old washcloths! This is a really good idea!

  5. Katie says:

    Omg, I admire you. I could never do cloth diapers/wipes. I don't have the resolve it takes to do laundry that often!!

  6. Awesome! Sometimes I wish I had a sewing machine (and knew how to use it) for things like that 🙂 I currently use regular washcloths, though I have a few "nice" ones that came with the Bummis trial :)I also use a wipe container for them! I have a wipe warmer actually, so I moisten them before putting them in and voilà! Wet wipes everytime (except when I forget to fill it back up…)

Leave a Reply

