It had to be Fair Isle – and a contest!

This is what I’m reknitting in those fabulous Knit Picks colors:

I have made some improvements to the pattern, which was originally written in March 2008. Leo is only seven months old in the photo – now he’s almost 3! I had the pattern test knit and tech edited, but by the time that whole process was complete Leo no longer would fit into the vest. Since I’m never truly happy with how unmodeled photos of sweaters look, the vest simply didn’t get published. Now I have a brand new model, and the vest will be knit with a new yarn! Both the old and new version are knit in 100 percent organic cotton – soft for wee babes.

Here’s the thing: I’m not completely happy with the name of the sweater. A few of my testers put their photos up on Ravelry, and at the time I was calling it the Divinity Baby Vest, after the candy. I had just finished the Confection Baby Shrug and wanted a sweet name for this vest, too. However, the name doesn’t quite seem right to me. Suggestions? If you suggest the winning name, you will win a free copy of my upcoming Baby Vest e-book! (More details on that ebook coming soon. I’ve been working on it, and I’m excited to start sharing.) The contest will end at midnight on July 20.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to It had to be Fair Isle – and a contest!

  1. TopHat says:

    If you want to go with sweets, I'd call it the Neapolitan Baby Vest. Three colors? Three flavors!

  2. Wooleyskein says:

    Im gonna continue with the sweet line too, but this really is truly the first thing that came to my mind: Salty Liquorice (or just Liquorice) . The pattern is the shape of a diamond=liquorice šŸ˜‰

  3. Sarah says:

    How about Marzipan?

  4. katkoe says:

    such a doll, love the smile :)how bout' "pick up sticks" ?

  5. Tendervest (for tenderness)

  6. Runic Rhyme says:

    Cloud N. Candy (all those who have played video games will get it!) :p

  7. Anonymous says:

    Every time I look at your vest I think of Ivy League, college, professors…perhaps you could call it "Little Scholar Vest".If you want to stick with your food theme, I'd suggest "Peppermint Patty Vest" (for the new colors you're using.)Tutorgal on Ravelry

  8. Julia says:

    I love 'Little Scholar Vest'! I'm going to have to have a think on a name for this…but I do know someone on Rav having something very similar to this test at the moment. Look up 'skyflame' on Rav.

  9. Julia says:

    Actually ignore me, the other one doesn't have fair aisle, so not the same at all šŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

